Accredited Community Hospitals

GSF Accreditation for Community Hospitals

As with all GSF Programmes, participating teams are encouraged  to progress to accreditation once the GSF training is complete  as a marker of quality assurance and quality recognition.

       1. Benefit of GSF accreditation

The GSF Quality Hallmark Awards is an independently validated marker of excellence, recognised by the regulator CQC, commissioning bodies, NHS Choices and many others. The database of accredited organisations is available to the general public and is co-badged by an independent partner – RCGP in the case of primary care accreditation, the four main care home organisations (NCA, NCF, ECCA, RNHA) in the case of care homes accreditation.

2. Process

Accreditation follows completion of the full GSF training programme in community hospitals, which normally takes about 12/ 18 months, with a mid point assessment of Foundation level. Once completed the hospitals can then register for the quality assurance process to demonstrate quality care for people nearing the end of life. This is in line with the National End of Life Care Survey (2008), Quality Markers for Community Hospitals (2009) and NICE quality standards in end of life care (2011).

In accordance with other GSF accreditation processes, this includes:

  1. Self- Assessment against 5 clear standards of best practice – right person, right care, right place, right time, every time. The hospital team demonstrate change by providing a portfolio of evidence including a statement of how they have achieved each standard and provide the supporting evidence.
  2. Key outcome ratios – demonstrating change and impact for patients with comparative measures of progress before and after training.
  3. Audit- After Death/ Discharge  Analysis audit. Demonstrate change at the patient level with ADA (before, after training and accreditation) and feedback from patients/carers.
  4. Quality Assessment visit – reviewing the integration of the processes into everyday practice.

Where hospital wards have demonstrated innovative best practice their examples will be included in the membership area of the website.

“We were able to discuss things more openly - there was a much more open and calm atmosphere and
we knew we were listening to them and their families better.”
Community Hospital Nurse 

Community Hospital Wards & Whole Hospitals Accredited

GSF Accredited Community Hospitals Wards & whole Hospitals- Round 3 2015 - 2018

  • Falmouth Community Hospital
  • Willow Ward, Liskeard Community Hospital
  • Lanyon Ward, Camborne Redruth Community Hospital
  • Tarrant Ward, Blandford Community Hospital

GSF Accredited Community Hospitals Wards & whole Hospitals- Round 1 & 2  2014 - 2017

  • Anchor Ward, Bodmin Community Hospital
  • Edward Hain Community Hospital
  • Oak Ward, Liskeard Community Hospital
  • Heligan Ward, St Austell Community Hospital
  • Harbour Ward, Bodmin Community Hospital
  • Lismore Ward, Helston Community Hospital
  • Newquay Community Hospital
  • St Barnabas Community Hospital
  • Lamorna Ward, Camborne Redruth Community Hospital
  • Launceston Community Hospital
  • Harold White Ward, St Austell Community Hospital
  • Stratton Community Hospital


Congratulations and well done to our latest GSF Accredited Community Hospital Wards & Whole Hospitals!

Map of all GSF Accredited & Re-Accredited Acute and Community Hospitals

3. Next Step

Any hospital wards ready to progress to accreditation will receive full guidance packs and further clarification of timescales.

GSF Accreditation for Round 4 Community Hospitals is now well underway with currently registered Hospital wards receiving their Accreditation guidance. For more details contact the GSF team at


“We can identify 30-40% of our patients early, code them according to their needs
and try to help them earlier.”   

- Teams from Phase 1 GSF going for Accreditation


Updated: 6/8/2016